The Life of a Big Ten Champ!

As a strength coach I have been fortunate enough to work with some amazing athletes. When I say amazing I am not just talking about their talents on the field. I am talking about their relentless work ethic and character. One of the amazing athletes that I have been able to work with is Christine Meier. Just to give you a little bit of back ground on Christine:

Christine Golf

HIGH SCHOOL GOLF

Over 15 high school tournament wins.

-2014 Rochester High School Hall of Fame Inductee

  • 2007 MHSAA Regional Champion
  • 2007 All State Super Team
  • 2007 T-3 MHSAA State Championship
  • 2008 All State Super Team
  • 2008 2nd MHSAA State Championship
  • 2009-spring MHSAA Regional Champion
  • 2009-spring All State Super Team
  • 2009-spring 3rd MHSAA State Championship
  • 2009 GAM Women’s Champion
  • 2009 GAM Player of the Year
  • 2009-fall MHSAA Regional Champion
  • 2009-fall Michigan High School State Champion
  • 2009-fall All State Super Team
  • 2009-fall MHSAA Miss Golf
  • 2011 Michigan Amateur Champion
  • 2012 US Women’s Open participant at Blackwolf Run
  • 2013 T-5 at Michigan Open
  • 2013 Michigan Amateur Champion
  • 2013 GAM Player of the Year
  • 2013 Advancement to final stage of LPGA Qualifying school

COLLEGE GOLF:

  • 2011 Big Ten Team Champion
  • 2011 All Big Ten 2nd Team
  • 2012 Big Ten Team Champion
  • 2012 Academic All-Big Ten
  • 2013 T-3 Big Ten Championship (individual)
  • 2013 2nd Big Ten Championship (team)
  • 2013 All Big Ten Team
  • 2013 Academic All-Big Ten
  • 2013 T-9 NCAA Championship (team)
  • 2013 6th NCAA Championship (individual)
  • 2014 Big Ten Team Champion
  • 2014 Academic All-Big Ten
  • 2014 All Big Ten 2nd Team

As you can see, she is one bad chick! Here is an interview I conducted with her so you can learn a little bit more on how she got to where she is now.

1) Where are you from? College?

I am from Rochester Hills. I recently graduated from Michigan State University.

2) Where are you at in your career?

I am currently pursuing a professional golf career. I recently finished my rookie year on the Symetra Tour and my goal is to be on the LPGA in the next 2 years.

3) What was your athletic career like as a young athlete? Let’s say from age 10-14, what sports did you play? How intense was your training?

I wouldn’t say I “trained” as a kid. I played golf, basketball, softball, and I danced. I was really active all the time and didn’t focus on just one thing. My training was not specialized.

4) What kind of support did your parents provide you with? Did they push you hard at a young age?

My parents never “made” me practice, though they strongly encouraged it. They didn’t push me very hard but they always wanted me involved in sports or activities; sitting at home was never an option. They instilled in me a strong sense of self-motivation. I knew from the beginning of high school that if I didn’t practice, I wouldn’t win. Now, they are my biggest fans and at least one of them is at just about every event I compete in. It was always really important to me that they were there, whether I was doing really well or not.

5) As you got older, what really clicked to make you go out and have the success you had in high school?

As I got older, I realized that everyone was really starting to get better, some were surpassing me. I realized that I needed to make a real commitment to practicing if I was going to win. I still played other sports, but golf was always the thing I loved most and I made time to practice, even if it was only for 30 minutes.

6) What was your diet like in high school? How much attention did you pay to what you were putting into your body?

I wish I would have paid more attention to my diet in high school. I wasn’t terrible, but I never realized how important diet and exercise were until college.

7) Who played a big influence on your high school career?

I had a lot of people that were for me through high school. My high school coach, Jeff Haney, has always been a huge supporter of me. My swing coach, Trevor Parkinson, was incredibly important. I have been seeing him since I was 10 and I know I can call or text him with any questions at any time. That was so important through high school because that was a big recruiting time. Finally, my parents were the most important influence to me. They drove me to practices, games, and tournaments. They were my biggest support system.

8) Do you think kids should be specializing at young age?

I do not think kids should specialize at a young age. I played several different sports and found the one that I really loved. My college coach at MSU loves recruits that are involved in more than just golf. I think other activities help kids develop socially and have healthier lives.

9) What is being a college athlete like? Walk us through the daily life of a college athlete

I would have workouts at about 630am, go to breakfast with my team afterwards. Then I would have class from about 830am until noon or a little after that. Grad a quick lunch and head to practice from 1pm until 4 or 5pm. Run back and grab dinner and then head to study table from 7pm until 9pm. It’s extremely busy and time management was something I had to learn very quickly, but I loved it.

10) What was it like winning a Big Ten Championship?

I was fortunate enough to win three Big Ten Championships in my four years at MSU. My most memorable one was my freshman year, though. We were underdogs and a very young team. We were down five strokes with three holes to play and counted four birdies and ended up winning. To have everything that you train for and work for and want so badly payoff is an amazing feeling. There were many tears of joy, and two ice cream stops on the way home!

11) What advice would you give to a young athlete today?

I would say make sure you really love what you’re doing. So much time and energy goes into training, school, and practice. Make sure all of your time and energy is going into something that you know you love.

12) How has your experience training with Coach Boudro helped in your college and career now?

Coach Boudro has definitely been one of the toughest strength coaches I’ve had. He has pushed to improve my golf through college. Now as a professional, he has set up a program with me to become a true support system with my training. I really enjoy coming to work out and I know that I will be a better athlete for it.

13) How important is strength training for your sport?

Strength training is very important in golf. Developing strength not only helps me to gain length, but also helps me to control my swing and create better accuracy.

14) What mental strategies do you use on the course?

I use a lot of visualization. Just imagining shots before I hit them helps me to focus on what I want to do. I am also a social person on the course. There is a lot to be said for relaxing and chatting with other players between shots. It helps me to stay calm and have fun out there.

15) Who is your favorite athlete?

Lorena Ochoa no longer competes professionally, but she was always my favorite golfer. I admired the way she played the game. She made it seem very light and easy and always looked like she loved what she was doing.

16) Looking back on your career and where you are now, what is the # 1 thing that drives you to be your best?

I’ve always been a very driven person. I’ve wanted to be on the LPGA since I was 10 and now that it is so close, it makes me want to work even harder. But the thing that really drives me is knowing that I can always do something to be better. I have learned that the moment I settle and think that I am “good enough” is when I need to push 10 times harder.

Leave a Reply

